The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

Photo from Goodreads

(Photo from Goodreads)

  • Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
  • Pub date: February 26, 2013
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Genre: YA, mystery, fantasy
  • Series: Shades of London #2

Quick Summary (spoilers for The Name of the Star!): Rory has survived a ghostly Ripper attack and is staying home in Bristol to recover. Yet she can’t stand having zero contact with her friends in the secret ghost-fighting police of London. When her therapist suggests she return to Wexford and her normal life, she immediately agrees. But not everything is as it seems. Rory finds out she is a human terminus and can destroy ghosts with a touch. Plus there are more murders happening in London that seem to be connected to Rory’s attack. Rory, Stephen, Boo, and Callum have to figure out what is going on before it’s too late, before someone else is killed.

Thoughts before reading: Can’t wait to find out what is going on and something better happen between Stephen and Rory.

General thoughts: Madness is a thrilling sequel. I loved seeing the Shades crew again and Johnson’s witty writing was spot on. The setting made me think for the thousandth time, “Must go to London!” I won’t name a name here, but I totally did not trust the villainous character from the beginning! (I note this achievement because I don’t always catch on to the sketchy ones.) The romance was sweet and satisfying. The only thing I didn’t like was that it was so short. It was such a quick read and I didn’t want it to end. Also, the thing that happens at the end. Maureen Johnson warned us about it and I had my suspicions, but alas, I was pretty devastated. As much as I hate feeling this way at the end of a book, I can’t help but appreciate the author’s ability to inspire such feelings for a fictional character. The ending left me reeling and wanting more; that’s great storytelling.

Thoughts after reading: WHY? *cries* Tell me there is still hope.

My rating: 4.5 stars

Do I recommend it? Yes, if you have read The Name of the Star, then this is a must-read.

Leave a comment