Panic by Lauren Oliver

Panic

(Photo from Goodreads)

  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Pub date: March 4, 2014
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Genre: Young Adult, contemporary fiction

Quick Summary: Heather and Dodge are living in Carp, a small boring town. It’s the summer after graduation and the seniors avoid boredom by playing Panic, a game of fear. The stakes are high, but the winner gets a sizable jackpot. Heather never intended to play Panic until she discovered she had something to fight for. Dodge has a secret; he’s not afraid of Panic and he will win. As the game progresses, alliances are formed, secrets are revealed, and first loves bloom. The question is, who will survive long enough to win?

General thoughts: I enjoyed Oliver’s Delirium series so I was really looking forward to her new stand alone novel. While I don’t think it was as good as all the hype said, I really liked Panic. Reading about fear fascinates me because I often struggle with overcoming my own fears. I seriously could not participate in Panic; I would totally freak out. It was interesting to “experience” the different challenges through Heather and Dodge’s POVs. The story was a little slow in the beginning, but as you read you become more and more invested in the characters and the outcome of the game. The ending certainly had me sitting on the edge of my seat in anticipation.

My rating: 4 stars

Do I recommend it? Yes, read it if you’re looking for a thrilling YA stand alone.

Leave a Reply

